Exerce, écrits chorégraphiques T.1 – A sound has no legs to stand on

AUTHOR : Jule Flierl
PUBLISHER : Crossing Éditions (2022)
COLLECTION : exerce, écrits chorégraphiques ( ICI-CCN Montpellier, Master exerce )

SOFT COVER : 150 pages
LANGUAGE : English
ISBN13 : 978 2 957 96151 1

En stock

En stock



Content :
1. Variations on fictional encounters with John Cage and several approaches to his text: 2 pages, 122 words on music and dance
2. Partition sonore for un son n’a pas des jambes sur lesquelles se tenir
3. Project descritption
4. Diary
5. Partitions
6. Tansitions
7. Choreaography and expositions
8. Perception
9. Music environments
10. Listening
11. The acousmatic voice
12. Tacheles
13. The voice
14. The future

Jule Flierl is an artist from Berlin/Germany who works with choreography and the voice. Using choreography and somatic singing methods, her scores unsettle the relationship between seeing and hearing: what you see is not always what you hear, and what you hear is not always what you see.
She revives and continues the legacy of Valeska Gert, avant-garde dancer from 1920’s Berlin, who first conceptualised the genre tontanz: to dance with one’s voice.
Jule’s work is a consequent questioning of how conceptions of the body change over time, exploring the voice as a technology of the self that always finds new relations on the body.

The collection « exerce, écrits chorégraphiques » gives the opportunity to read, see and practice the memoirs of former exerce students. Three first issues were published in June 2022, two others will be published in the Fall.